Skip to main content

The aim of the Science Department is to develop students’ knowledge and understanding of the world around them through an investigative and relevant curriculum that fosters an awareness and appreciation of science to improve students’ life chances.

  • To provide a curriculum that is stimulating and relevant, reflecting the changing nature of science and extending students’ horizons through opportunities outside the classroom.
  • To develop students’ ability to analyse problems and research and evaluate information critically through investigative work.
  • To encourage all students to form their own ideas about the world they live in and so become independent thinkers.
  • To develop students’ spiritual, moral, social and cultural awareness so that they are prepared for their role in society.
  • To ensure that all students meet their academic potential by removing barriers that undermine learning.

Our staff:

Ms S Mahmood [Head of Department]

Mr J Hamula [Second in Department]

Ms R Begum [KS3 Co-ordinator]

Ms F.Bibi [Assistant Headteacher- Excellence]

Ms J Wu [Head of Y10]

Ms S Perveen [Head of Y9]

Ms F Kayani- [Teacher of Science]

Ms M Sheikh- [Teacher of Science]

Mr W Chung [Teacher of Science]

Mr H Shah [Teacher of Science]

Ms S Hussain [Science Technician]

Our Teachers

Key Stage 3

Key Stage 4

KS4: Y10 and 11 follow the Edexcel Science curriculum. The majority of students will complete Combined Science pathway, and secure two GCSEs in Science.  Students who have aspirations to pursue the Sciences Post-16 can opt to study Separate Sciences. These students will acquire three GCSEs in this route.

Year 10

Year 11

Exam Specification

Years 7, 8 and 9 – Oxford University Press: Activate assessments

Year 10
Edexcel Combined Science / Edexcel Separate Science

Year 11
Edexcel Combined Science / Edexcel Separate Science 

Useful Resources